What She Means Is…(or Goodbye Baa)

I love it when my kids make up their own words. For the entire pacifier phase, I was at odds with those who called it a “binky.” “Binky” is the brand; pacifier is the object. I hate “binky,” which I know is arbitrary in some ways. I will accept “Kleenex” for “tissue,” and even “Coke” for “soda,” but not “Binky” for “pacifier.” I wanted to be sure my kid called it a pacifier. Others thought “binky” was so cute and wanted him to call it “binky.” Others, and probably a strong majority, didn’t really care what he called it.

Well, the P fooled us all. He called it a “daglish.” We never did figure out why.

The Princess is learning about a word per day, sometime more, and her words are getting clearer. For months, when she has wanted to watch “Shaun the Sheep,” she would sit on the couch and tell us, “Wanna baa.” But over Christmas, she started saying, “Wanna ‘on the ‘eep.” We were proud and sad. I really liked to hear her say “Wanna baa.”

Then there’s the issue of “Nga-Nga.” One of her first words after the traditional “Mama” was “Nga-Nga.” This has come to mean “milk.” But even with the progress she is making with cartoon sheep names, we can’t get her to say “milk.” Even when we enunciate, “Ready? Say miiii-l-k,” she repeats back really slowly and intentionally, “nnngaaaa-nnngaa.”

The Princess is saying more and more each day.  The really special thing is that this week, BabyDaddy told her, “I love you.”  And she answered, “wuv you.”

Then, the next day, she said it to him again.

She said it to me once, but I had to beg.  It doesn’t count if you have to beg.

For those of you who were close during the Princess’s first 18 months, you know that I pretty much recieved all of the baby love.  She would hardly acknowledge her daddy’s existence.  It’s totally okay with me that he got the first “wuv you.”  I’m mostly just glad that she’s putting words together and loving her daddy.  I’m about 98% happy for BabyDaddy and 2% jealous.

And that’s the truth.

Leave a Reply

