The Crib is Complete!

This week, my husband found a really cheap house here in town. It’s going for something like $35/square foot. It’s in a really nice part of town. We are not house hunting, so I’m not sure how he found it, but seriously, if we had the down payment available, I think he would have made the offer.

He sent me an email with a link to the listing.

I immediately thought, as you would also, “Something is seriously wrong with that house.”

I thought, “I bet they used to make meth in there.”

So I sent him this link back.

While looking over the meth site, I saw something that really scared me. There was a list of signs that your neighbor is on meth.  Most we obvious, such as “frequent visitors who park a block away” and “will accept Sudafed as payment for services.”  But one was “has many projects going and doesn’t seem to finish any of them.”

Oh no!

So I decided that this week, I was going to finish a project no matter what. Luckily for the Princess, we had a deadline coming up of her birthday, and she needed a place for her babies to sleep.

20120205-080910.jpg

Head First! That's the way.

This is from the DIY (asterisk) file. I found the plans for this doll crib here: ana-white.com.  I took the plans to Home Depot and bought the wood.  Then I took the wood to Papa Daddy’s house because I knew he had a saw (He has made a little chair for the P, bookshelves, and lots of other stuff.).  My plan was to cut the wood at their house and then bring the wood home and assemble it using the two tools that I own (a Kreg Jig and a drill).

After Papa Daddy cut the wood, he was like, “So, what’s your plan?”

I was like, “Build the crib?”

He was like, “Here, use all these cool tools, and I’ll show you how to do it.”

I was like, “Awesome.”

(This conversation was paraphrased.)

20120205-080919.jpg

The Princess saying, "Ohhhh" while noticing the finer details of her doll crib.

So, Papa Daddy totally made this baby doll crib.  If I had made this at home, it would be painted all white to cover all the mistakes I would have made and it would not have cute arched end boards.  I was not even going to try to cut and sand arches.  But look at them:

20120208-210757.jpg

Thank you PapaDaddy!

I did etch the flower.  That was nerve wrecking, but I really like how it turned out.  After I felt comfortable using the rotary tool, I told my husband that I was going to etch celtic knots into all of our door frames.  He reminded me that we do not own our current home, so maybe that would not be the best idea.  He was right.

At some point, I decided that the mattress fabric would be like Dorothy’s dress, so that meant the wood needed to be stained the color of her basket.  I’m really glad it turned out nice enough to stain.

This is the mattress.  Ana’s site has a tutorial on the mattress, too.  This is only the 3rd thing I’ve even sewn, and it was so easy.  You can totally do it.

20120205-080933.jpg

The Princess’s birthday is not until next week, but she had already seen the crib by the time we took it home to finish it, and the whole time the finish was drying, she was asking, “Mine crib ready?” “No, dear, it will be 12 more hours.” “Mine crib ready?” “No, dear, 11 and three-quarters more hours.”

Then, at some point, she saw me carefully inspecting the crib for stray cat hairs.  She “ran” over and asked, “Mine crib alright!?” “Yes, dear.” “Mine crib ready?” “No.  In the morning.”

So, first thing the next morning, she was ready to move the baby doll into the crib.  Hence the pajama pictures.  She just couldn’t wait.

Now what to finish next…?

Leave a Reply

