Saturday of Fun – Part 3

We all got off okay and were off to the second surprise: The Fort Worth Nature Center.

When we were at Disney World, we visited the Conservatory inside Animal Kingdom. We saw black rhinos, giraffes, elephants, alligators, and hippos. The Fort Worth Nature Center is great, but it has a little less variety. They keep bison and prairie dogs. That’s it. Just those two animals. And we didn’t see any bison. Welcome to Texas, y’all.

Honestly though, the center really was a fun visit. At the visitor’s center, there are lots of snake skins, bones, rocks and skulls that the kids are allowed to touch. And they keep a small number of frogs and snakes and one prairie dog indoors, so we spent a lot of time looking at those just in case we couldn’t find a prairie dog in the wild.

After we were bored looking at frogs, we started down the shortest hike. It was supposed to be 1.3 miles total, but part of the trail was closed, so we took a detour and I know that added another half mile to the trek. But on the hike, we did find a couple of prairie dogs and lots of grasshoppers, birds, and butterflies. Anytime we heard a rustle in the leaves, the P would stop and tell us both to hush. We would all listen carefully until a bird would fly out of the bushes. He thought he saw deer tracks and maybe an armadillo. This was a successful hike.

About halfway through, the Princess grabbed the map and started repeating, “The map say it’s time go home.” But she made it…mostly because I carried her for 90% of the trip…so when I say she made it, I mean, she didn’t have a complete breakdown on the trail.

Now, this is the part where I almost cried. I had brought a Moby Wrap with us because I’m a smart mom, and I anticipated carrying the Princess for the hike. It’s much easier to carry her in a wrap than with my arms. We have not used this wrap since last summer, but it’s supposed to hold children up to 35 lbs. The Princess barely weighs 23 lbs., so I knew she would fit.

When I started to put on the wrap, the Princess started to cry. She kept point at the fabric and saying, “No, not that. Not that.”

I said, “You want me to carry you, right?”

“Yes.”

“But not in this thing?”

“No.”

I knew it would be impossible to wrestle her into the carrier, so I put it away and just carried her in my arms. When we got home, I was rolling the Moby Wrap back up and asked the Princess, “You used to like to sit in here. Why don’t you like it anymore?”

She said, “I two.”

I said, “Oh, you’re a big girl.”

She said, “I not Baby Josey.”

In case you need to know, Baby Josey is a 8 month old that we know. The Princess is not Baby Josey, and she wants that to be known.

I didn’t really cry, but it was a close one.

Read my detailed review of Fort Worth Nature Center here.

Leave a Reply

