I made it through kindergarten graduation without bawling.

20120524-210846.jpg

I only cried a little.

20120524-211210.jpg

They led with a slide show accompanied by a song I had never heard before. It was a woman singing, “don’t ever grow up,” and other similar heart wrenching lyrics. I just tuned it out and stayed strong.

Then all 80 kindergarteners, in unison, recited the cutest poem:

“Remember last fall
We were so small
Look at us now
We’ve grown so tall…”

That kind of thing.

I stayed strong.

Then, they all sang the song “New York, New York” with lyrics altered for a kindergarten graduation.

“Start spreading the news,
We’re leaving today.
We want to be a part of it
First grade, First grade”

It continued.

Due to technical difficulties, they sang this song 3 times.

At the end of the last song, the P’s best girl friend sang a solo. That’s when I lost it a little.

My dad pointed out that we only have six more graduations to go: 6th grade, junior high, high school, college, med school, and law school.

None of those could be as cute as this one was.

3 thoughts on “I made it through kindergarten graduation without bawling.

Leave a Reply

